The BMC Racing Team is one of the best UCI ProTeam’s in the world, with a star-studded roster which includes reigning world road champion Philippe Gilbert, reigning Swiss national road champion Martin Kohler and current Danish national road champion Sebastian Lander and seven 2012 Olympians that include 2011 Tour de France winner and past (2009) world champion Cadel Evans and 2012 Tour de France best young rider Tejay van Garderen. Two other former world road champions, Alessandro Ballan (2008) and Thor Hushovd (2010), headline the squad that also includes past national time trial champions Taylor Phinney (United States) and Marco Pinotti (Italy).

BMC 2013 Team Presentation. Image by TDW Sport.


In 2012, the team won 21 races, including two stages of the Giro d’Italia and three in the Vuelta a España and placed two riders (van Garderen and Evans) in the top 10 at the Tour de France, with Van Garderen crowned best young rider.

This summer the team is looking to build on their successes of previous years off the back of, to their standards a relatively average Spring Classics season. A strong BMC squad will head to the Giro d’Italia which runs May 4-26, including 2011 Tour winner Cadel Evans. Cadel has previously opted not to ride in the Giro, with many believing two grand tours is one too many for GC contenders.

Unlike Team Sky’s Bradley Wiggins, Evans and BMC Racing’s focus remains firmly on the Tour. In a recent interview Cadel explained although there are not many riders who perform better with two Tours in their legs, he needs the competitive miles following the racing he missed last year. His objective for the Giro d’Italia, which runs May 4-26, is simply to get back to his best in a hope to find the kind of form that saw him claim the maillot jaune two years ago.

Cadel Evans on the Champs-Élysées, 2011. Image by TDW Sport for BMC Racing


The team will then head to the Tour which rolls out of Porto-Vecchio, Corsica on Saturday 29th June.

2013 BMC Racing Squad

Alessandro Ballan (ITA)
Adam Blythe (GBR)
Brent Bookwalter (USA)
Marcus Burghardt (GER)
Steve Cummings (GBR)
Yannick Eijssen (BEL)
Cadel Evans (AUS)
Mathias Frank (SUI)
Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
Thor Hushovd (NOR)
Martin Kohler (SUI)
Sebastian Lander (DEN)
Klaas Lodewyck (BEL)
Amaël Moinard (FRA)
Steve Morabito (SUI)
Dominik Nerz (GER)
Daniel Oss (ITA)
Taylor Phinney (USA)
Marco Pinotti (ITA)
Manuel Quinziato (ITA)
Ivan Santaromita (ITA)
Michael Schär (SUI)
Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)
Tejay van Garderen (USA)
Larry Warbasse (USA)
Danilo Wyss (SUI)


Find out more about Team BMC Racing at, follow them on Twitter for news and live updates and view their latest pictures


Pro Peleton Fact…

Pro Teams use over 200 drink bottles a day during the Giro and Tour.


View all BMC bikes >>

View all team kit >>